Are You Listening …

I was going to title this post “Sleigh Bells Ring, Are You Listening?” But that was too much of a reality stretch for me. There aren’t any sleighs or their bells anywhere near me. This is an example of my reality: I spend yesterday’s winter solstice day gardening in a tee shirt under the bright sun. While I picked fruit, pulled weeds, and set gopher traps, I had Christmas carols streaming through my earphones.

I was thinking this morning about the traditions we keep for Christmas. Listening to holiday music is my favorite element of the season.

What’s your favorite Christmas song? I’ve got two.

The runner-up is In the Bleak Midwinter. It gives me chills with its “snow on snow.” Christina Rossetti is a gifted poet.

My number one favorite song is a real oldie, The Wexford Carol. It came from Ireland in the 12th century. The tune is intriguing, and the words tell the story so well.

The Wexford Carol

1. Good people all, this Christmas time,
Consider well and bear in mind
What our good God for us has done,
In sending His belovèd Son.
With Mary holy we should pray
To God with love this Christmas Day;
In Bethlehem upon the morn
There was a blest Messiah born.

2. The night before that happy tide
The noble virgin and her guide
Were long time seeking up and down
To find a lodging in the town.
But mark how all things came to pass:
From every door repelled, alas!
As long foretold, their refuge all
Was but a humble oxen stall.

3. Near Bethlehem did shepherds keep
Their flocks of lambs and feeding sheep;
To whom God’s angels did appear
Which put the shepherds in great fear.
Prepare and go, the angels said,
To Bethlehem, be not afraid;
For there you’ll find, this happy morn,
A princely babe, sweet Jesus born.

4. With thankful heart and joyful mind,
The shepherds went the babe to find,
And as God’s angel has foretold,
They did our Savior Christ behold.
Within a manger He was laid,
And by His side the virgin maid
Attending to the Lord of Life,
Who came on earth to end all strife.

Am I listening? He came to earth to end all strife, not out on the world stage, but inside each of us. We now have an end to the struggle of working out our salvation. Peace and joy is ours, because the savior has come and our eternal salvation is secured. This baby, born to die, has done it.

My One Monthly Goal had something to do with babies. You can read about that in my last post, December

The plan was to bind this baby. Done, and ready for gifting to the pregnancy center in town. You can see that I’ve even got another donation all quilted up and ready to bind. Join the party HERE.

Merry Christmas everyone!

2 thoughts on “Are You Listening …

Leave a comment