99. Guiding Star

I’m edging ever closer to the finish line. I’m now up to block number 99 of 100. This is another addition to the original 96 blocks provided in the book, so the choice is mine to make. How does one choose a patchwork block to summate the entire Bible?

The answer is obvious: one cannot.

When I thought about how one goes about synthesizing the Bible at all, the Third Article of Luther’s Small Catechism popped into my head. Yes, it really did pop right up. My brain is not strong in the memorization department, but this explanation to the Apostle’s Creed has remained in there since my eighth grade year. It was assigned to me by my pastor for our final examination. There were more than thirty kids in our confirmation class, and yet who did he choose to give the longest section to? Shy, insecure, nervous little yours truly. I had to recite it, from memory, in front of the entire church congregation the Sunday before our Confirmation. You can imagine how dreadful this experience was to endure. Maybe that’s why I’ve remembered it all these years. And what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, right? And actually, since then, these words have truly helped:

“I believe that I cannot by my own reason or strength believe in Jesus Christ, my Lord, or come to Him; but the Holy Spirit has called me by the Gospel, enlightened me with His gifts, sanctified and kept me in the true faith. In the same way He calls, gathers, enlightens, and sanctifies the whole Christian church on earth, and keeps it with Jesus Christ in the one true faith. In this Christian church He daily and richly forgives all my sins and the sins of all believers. On the Last Day He will raise me and all the dead, and give eternal life to me and all believers in Christ.

This is most certainly true.”

There it is. The Holy Spirit enlightens us, full stop. So if we trust in Him, He will help us to navigate the scriptures in the way that He, the author intended.

When Jesus was having those final conversations with his disciples, He said (John 16:7) “But I tell you the truth, it is to your advantage that I go away; for if I do not go away, the Helper shall not come to you; but if I go, I will send Him to you . . .(verse 13) when He, the Spirit of truth comes, He will guide you into all the truth . . .”

So in the end, the choice for block 99 was simple: Guiding Star block. I found the pattern on The Quilter’s Cache website by Marcia Hohn.

Guiding Star Quilt Block

One thought on “99. Guiding Star

Leave a comment