June

. . .she’ll change her tune.

(From “April, Come She Will” by Simon and Garfunkel.)

It took more than half the month, but the cold, dreary weather finally changed. The sun finally burned through the gloom. The plants that have been waiting in suspended animation have responded to this change by, (oh dear, here comes another song, “June is bustin’ out all over.”)

Never mind. I changed my tune halfway through June as well. I met my One Monthly Goal, but not in the way I had planned.

The plan was to remove photos from four old “magnetic” baby albums and mount them into new ones. (What exactly is the “magnetic” feature?) Actually, those precious photos were fused tight with the sticky pages. I had underestimated the struggle that was to come. Those irreplaceable photos were getting torn and bent no matter how carefully I worked, My sore fingers finally called it quits after removing the contents of one album.

I’ve decided to let my kids have the fun project of pulling their own photos out and remaking their own albums if they wish. My guess is they will stay where they are in those magnetic albums. They’re a part of the era, they add to the look. They are now considered “vintage”, therefore value is added. Besides, isn’t the acid damage already done after thirty odd years? How much more can these photos degrade?

So, moving forward with Plan B, I gathered up all the photos, yearbooks, artwork, and papers for each child from various places and bins tucked away throughout the house. Isn’t bin clean up and rearrangement very satisfying? Everything of theirs is now sorted into four new bins labeled and ready to go home with them someday.

So the big bulky bin is gone from underfoot, which was the primary goal. But I filled it with fabric stash and put it back into that closet. Who can resist an empty bin? Oh well. Two steps forward . . .

And I met my other goal too. I quilted, bound, and mailed off my “Get Well Soon” mug rug to my dear friend. I’m glad to say she is on the mend. Thank you Patty and Anne-Marie for hosting this challenge. It helps me get those procrastination-worthy projects done. Click Here to see what others have finished in June.

Reversible!

2 thoughts on “June

  1. I’m a bit envious of you having those photos sorted. I need to sort my computer ones as well. I keep saying its a good travel project, but still haven’t done it in over 10 years. Someday…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment