Old and New

Here I am, second month in a row, showing up to crash a Linkup party to which I was technically not invited.

Rule of participation: Post my goal at the beginning of the month. Well, I meant to, but the first week flew by. I was busy with my new toy, and selling the old one.

New toy – Voyager 17, which is technically “old”. It replaces an older Pfaff 1200. It came with a new/old frame too.

Lucky for me, I know you people. You are kind and generous. I would guess you are model rule-followers, as am I, but you also know when to let it go. So here I go.

My October goal was this: Get binding on the Bible Sampler Quilt. Last month’s post left off with me needing to find the right lavender gray fabric. After hunting through the bolt stacks in five different shops, I brought home two possibilities, then decided on THE one.

BUT . . . before I could finally cut my scalloped quilt edge and then attach the binding, I decided to add a hanging sleeve. Because it was an afterthought, I had to hand stitch it on. That took awhile. But now, at last, the binding is on and I’m happily taking my sweet time handsewing it down around the scallops in the evenings.

Bunched up on my lap – cozy.

So as I was approaching the finish line on this quilt, instead of focusing, maybe even getting the binding all done, I answered the siren song of the YouTubes and watched Edyta Sitar’s quiltalong videos for Star Upon Stars. Which led me to decide to take it on, which led me to purchase her new book, Patches of Stars.

Which led me to drag my stash bins out of the closet and pull the colors. I believe I have plenty to make the Star Upon Stars quilt.

It’s a start.

I know I mentioned last month that I had a hankering to purge fabrics from those bins. I’m glad I didn’t get around to it. I might not have held on to some of these scraps which will find their home in this next project.

Which leads me to ask myself, why am I starting a new project before I’m done with the old one? I’m so very very close to the end. Maybe it’s because I’m subconsciously preparing for a possible letdown that might come when this project is done. Maybe I’m generating excitement a new challenge provides to keep my sewjo flowing. Do you do this too? I really have no idea why. I’m thinking I shouldn’t be overthinking. For now, I’ll continue to take my time, relax, and enjoy all the things.

4 thoughts on “Old and New

  1. Beautiful quilt. I enjoyed reading about the making of it 🙂
    I find that I often start something new as I am finishing the old so that I don’t get to hasty in the finishing and get sloppy, just because I am so wanting to start the next project.

    Like

  2. Glad I wasn’t the only one crashing the link up party this month. 🙂
    Congratulations on coming up to the last step of your Bible Quilt. It will be one to treasure. And I can understand being sucked into Stars upon Stars. Enjoy the process – when you get there.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nothing wrong with starting new projects (says the queen of ufo’s). You’re following your creative muse. I haven’t ever done any shaped binding. I really should try it sometime.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment