August

“Die she must.

The autumn winds blow chilly and cold . . .”

I can safely bet that Paul Simon wasn’t in Southern California when composing this song. It’ll stay hot and dry here into September. But, finishing what I started, these monthly OMG post titles will carry forward the lyrics of this gentle song nonetheless.

“OMG” as in, One Monthly Goal: August Finish Link-up

Click the link above to join the party over on Elm Street Quilts and Stories From The Sewing Room.

I met my quilting goal, but the jury’s out on whether I achieved my Swedish Death Cleaning goal. Yes, I examined the remaining contents of that underfoot bin. No, it did not all get processed to its end game. Yes, I organized and filed lots of stuff. No, I’m not ready to purge some things that probably could be let go. Mind you, I’ve already deep cleaned the rest of the house. This stuff I’m talking about is what organizers say should be kept for last: the family/memory/emotional stuff. It’s sticky, like the last five pounds you’re hoping to take off to achieve THE GOAL.

Here’s where I remind myself that the proper title is actually: The Gentle Art of Swedish Death Cleaning. So I am being gentle with myself, as I know that slow and steady truly does win races. On to the photos:

The goal was to finish tacking the Bible Sampler Quilt. Done!

I truly enjoyed tacking this huge thing. A back view shows the alternating white and lavender tacks. Some are a little crooked, which makes it really handmade, really mine.

It’s holding together quite well. Next step: deciding how to quilt the triangles.

I have to share with you what occurred that caused me to stop what I was doing and sit down to write this post. One side effect of this “life cleaning” is melancholy. I’ve been reliving so many memories as I’ve sifted through photos, baby books, letters, and cards. It’s not been easy, watching your life pass before you. I especially miss my mom. Well, this is what happened. I was cleaning house, and took down the wall hanging my mom made for my fortieth birthday. As I shook out the dust, I noticed for the first time that she had tied it. It made me smile. I had thought it wasn’t quilted at all because it was small. But there were the black perle cotton knots, lined up on the back. Made with her touch, her love.

If you recall, I’ve been on a tying spree myself. I can’t explain why, but it made me happy.

Here’s to August weather passing, and pleasant autumn days ahead.

3 thoughts on “August

  1. I love your Bible quilt! Thanks for sharing the tieing. I feel like that way of finishing a quilt has been underrated. And keep giving yourself grace. It’s your goal, so it’s really your rules. Right?

    Like

Leave a comment